The Carnivals are Here!

Carnival of Homeschooling

Both Carnivals of Education are up and ready.  That’s a LOT of reading!

First the Carnival of Homeschooling presented by Dana at The Simple Pleasures of Homeschooling.  She posts most of her homeschooling “stuff” at her Principled Discovery blog.  I love her quote though:

Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things.
Robert Brault

There are of course a lot of thought provoking posts on the Carnival of Homeschooling.  Among them -

  • Remember the … What? Considering the very sad state of affairs of public education in history and geography, I’m really not surprised people don’t remember the Alamo.  Or the Maine. Or know where Iraq is for crying out loud! Holocaust?  What Holocaust?  If people don’t learn about it in school (or life), it becomes much easier to forget, to cover up – to deny.
  • Lessons Worth TeachingWhy Homeschool talks about what she is trying to instill in her daughters.  Is all the information we have at our fingertips of the same value?  The answer seems pretty obvious to me.  I really don’t give a hoot about the latest starlet’s trip to rehab, but I do care about what books my daughter is reading.  We need to keep our eyes on what is really important, not the fluff and media hype we are constantly surrounded with.
  • Kronos Timeline Idea: I love the timeline idea posted on Biblical Parenting.  Frankly, I don’t have a wall to put a timeline on anyway, so I need something more “compact.”  I do have some papers/cutouts from a kit already, but I want DD to do the work herself customizing and coloring it.  I like the “cheery” look and I bet their kids know when things happened … like the Alamo!
  • Using Diaries to Write About History: There are some great ideas and links in this posting at In Our Write Minds about using primary sources and Journals and weaving them into your history curriculum.  The whole blog looks like its worth perusing.
  • Oh…can I relate to this one.  Homespun Comic Strip #270:  Homeschooling with cats.  I have to quote: “I love having pets. But some days they are just fur covered distractions with claws.”
  • The Real Job of “Socialization” is an excellent posting at Life Without School about what socialization truly is.  What the responsibilities of parents really are.  What the schools should be responsible for… and what they have to deal with in the real world.  Yes… I’ve encountered the rude remarks from strangers about my DD – who have absolutely no clue about our story or our circumstances.

The #191 Carnival of Education is hosted over at Creating Lifelong Learners.  Some interesting reads there as well including How to Teach Science (or not) and one of my favorite blogs (because I’ve worked in a school) Learn Me Good by Mister Teacher Green Eggs and Math.

That’s it for this time.  More next week!

3 thoughts on “The Carnivals are Here!

Leave a Reply

